Whatever It Takes, Part 7

Pairing: Zach/Chris, Chris/OMC
Summary: From the based on this prompt on the Kink Meme: I hope someone finds this interesting enough to right [sic] it. So, I have read a couple of stories recently where Chris doesn’t realize that he loves Zach until it’s too late and Zach is with someone else. I want a story that is the reverse. Chris had for a while wanted Zach, but Zach was too oblivious, so Chris gave up and found another guy. so basically Zach has to work for it. Zach has to prove to Chris that he is the better guy. Jealous Zach is a fun read. and I like happy ending, but Zach has to work for it, and Chris just doesn’t leave the other guy just cause Zach says so. So lots and lots of drama. please please someone write it.
Rating: NC-17 (This part PG-13)
Wordcount: 489
Disclaimer: Didn’t happen. No matter how much I wish it would.
Warnings: None
A/N: I have no clue how long this will be, but it feels like it’ll end up being epic. I’m keeping a perspective on it to keep it moving.

“So how was your date?” Zach asked, his voice belying none of the anxiousness, none of the trepidation and hope and certainly not the shame he felt for what he was trying to do.

“It was fine.” Noncommittal, no details, no expression on Chris’s face.

“Just ‘fine’? Did you find out about Will’s friend?” He sipped his coffee, knowing it was too soon, that he’d burn his mouth and it was nothing less than he deserved. Might as well accept some kind of punishment now for actions he fully intended to commit despite their dubiousness.

“I did. They once dated. Years ago.” Chris’s voice held all the no-big-deal he could put into it. Zach wasn’t buying it.

“And?” he pressed.

Chris sighed, leaning forward and looking at his hands, picking at his fingernails. “And… it was totally obvious Sam was still holding onto their past. Maybe it wouldn’t have bugged me so much if he wasn’t trying to eye-fuck Will from across the room right in front of me.”

“How did Will react?” Eyes zeroed in on Chris’s face as he talked, reading as much into it as Zach could.

“He didn’t. Not really. He was polite to Sam, told him he did a great job – which was bullshit, by the way. I’m dumber for having listened to it – and then left with me. No plans to meet up with Sam again, at least not in front of me. But…”

“But what?” Honeyed sympathy in Zach’s voice, just a touch, like a sun-kissed drop of dew on a tendril of spider web.

“I don’t think he would have told me about any past with Sam if I hadn’t asked him. I don’t know how to feel about that. On the one hand, I haven’t given him a litany of my past exploits. On the other hand, I’m not still making plans with any of them either, and if I were to, I’d warn him up front and reassure him.”

“Sorry, Chris, but that’s kind of insensitive. Both to you and to Sam. Parading the new boyfriend in front of the old one and not telling the new one about it? Dick move.”

Chris bristled. “He probably just didn’t realize he was doing it. If he’s dismissed Sam enough in his mind, maybe it just didn’t occur to him.” The excuses that rolled off his tongue tasted thin and sour and he got a ball of gluey discomfort in his chest.

Zach’s voice, soft in tone but every bit as predatory as he intended, assaulted Chris with precision, a pinprick with no discernable injury, except for having deflated that new relationship buzz, opening Chris’s eyes to the gritty ugliness that Will wasn’t as benign as he seemed, that behind his soft smile and bright eyes, maybe he wasn’t as what-you-see-is-what-you-get as he appeared to Chris.

“Then why did you have to go to Sam’s poetry reading in the first place?”

Part 8

~ by A on April 15, 2011.

Hit Me with Your Best Shot

 
