Technology Fail and an Apology

Where the hell have I been the last near-month???

Well, I’ve been around, gnashing my teeth, obsessively checking the mail, simultaneously kissing and cursing my Droid smartphone, and woeing and miserying and just in general going batshit crazy.

I have three computers, one desktop and two laptops. The desktop’s hard drive went out this past summer and I never replaced or fixed it. It’s going on 7 years old and while it was a good computer, it was time to say goodbye. The laptop was my backup turned main computer, and it was peachy for awhile… until my power cord broke. The battery holds no charge so without a cord, it was dead. After too long a time, I got a new cord and was back in business. Then, I lost my job and that laptop became my link to getting a new one, where my résumé is stored and also all my stories, but mainly, it was my way of coping, moving onto hopefully something better so I can get on with my life. So much hinges on getting a job, but I won’t detail that much of my dirty laundry online.

Until nearly 4 weeks ago, it was going ok, an interview here, more résumé posting there, emails galore, blah blah blah. Then my power cord broke again. No big, I’ll just get another one and be on my way… until, three different power cords later, I realize the cord wasn’t the only problem. It’s where it’s plugged in that’s banjaxed.

So here I am, posting from my phone to let my few readers know why I dropped off the planet. The second laptop isn’t connected to the internet, (yet) and so … I haven’t written more than snippets and tweets for the last month. My stalker story is saved on the fucked laptop. Either way, getting the old one fixed or the backup internet ready is going to cost me money I can scarcely afford. But without it, no job, no writing, no sanity.

Today has been bleak, realizing I have a bigger problem than a cord. But at least I know the true problem to tackle my internetlessness. I’d have found a clocktower if I hadn’t had my phone, despite it being slow for writing more than a text or tweet, or it inexplicably signing me out of everything, or needing a reboot.

I wonder if anyone is still bothering with my stuff, my stories. But in case anyone is, this is the scoop. I hope to be back in business by the end of the week, despite the cost. I cannot afford a new computer, even if the repairs end up being expensive. *sigh* I really hope this is the last of the problems that plague me. Because seriously, I’m eyeing Google directions up for those clocktower locations and my finger is hovering over that search button.

~ by A on February 8, 2011.

2 Responses to “Technology Fail and an Apology”

  1. Keep fingers crossed for you! Have had similar computer shit exactly one year before – and I’m still suffering from costs, missing files and lost job opportunities …

  2. *sigh* If it weren’t for my phone, my RP would have fallen apart, and frankly, I can’t have that. Thanks for the good wishes.

Hit Me with Your Best Shot

 
